Google Calendar connection FAQs

OnceHub FAQ

How does OnceHub connect with Google Calendar? 

OnceHub communicates with the Google Calendar API using a token that is generated by Google. Therefore, your Google login password is never known to OnceHub. Once a connection is established, OnceHub reads or writes to Google Calendar in real time and no data from Google Calendar is ever saved on our servers.

Can I connect to a Google Calendar that is not related to my login ID?

You can connect to any Google Calendar, regardless of the login ID that you are using to sign in to OnceHub.

Note

InviteOnce searches for availability based on your login ID calendar. If you are connecting a Google Calendar that is not related to your login ID, you need to make sure your login ID calendar is shared with full permissions to your connected Google Calendar.

Can I create a Google Calendar account that does not use a Gmail email address?

You can create a Google Calendar account on any email address. Learn more about creating a Google Calendar for your non-Gmail email address 

I cannot connect - what should I do?

This may be due to temporary communication problems with the Google Calendar API. Please try the following:

  1. Make sure cookies are enabled on your browser
  2. Verify that you can log in to your G Suite account
  3. Try to connect again from OnceHub. In your OnceHub account, go to Profile-> Calendar connection and click the Renew your connection button.

If you’re still having problems, please contact us and we will be happy to assist you.

Can I connect to my G Suite Calendar?

Yes, there is no difference between connecting to a G Suite Calendar and connecting to a Gmail-based Google Calendar.

Do you support G Suite resource calendars?

G Suite resource calendars are fully supported.

I’m already connected with one Google calendar. How do I switch to another?

The simplest way to switch is to disconnect your calendar and reconnect to a new one. To disconnect, click on your profile image or initials in the top right corner and select Calendar connection. Next, disconnect and connect to another account. Learn more about connecting your Google Calendar

Can I cancel and reschedule in Google Calendar?

This is only supported for ScheduleOnce. The ScheduleOnce integration with Google Calendar can be set up to allow you to cancel or reschedule directly in your connected calendar, while all bookings remain updated in ScheduleOnce.

How is my availability retrieved?

When you connect your Google Calendar account, OnceHub is able to read the calendar to see when you are already busy. 

  • Any events labeled "Busy" on your calendar will be considered unavailable time. Busy time on your calendar will restrict the time slot options that you are able to choose from when accepting bookings from your customers, scheduling a meeting, or when sending an invitation. 
  • Events labelled "Available" or "Free" will be considered as available time for meetings.

Can I disable the Google Calendar invite that is sent to my customers?

In ScheduleOnce, you can disable the Google Calendar invite email in ScheduleOnce-> Setup -> Relevant Booking page -> Customer notifications, and uncheck the box that sends the Google Calendar invite email. Learn more about the Google Calendar invite

In InviteOnce, when creating an invitation to self-schedule or when scheduling on behalf, you can disable adding the Customer to the calendar event in Step 3: External participant notifications by turning off the Add to calendar event toggle.

ScheduleOnce FAQ

Why do my busy times appear in wrong hours?

This is due to time zone differences between the Account time zone in your Google Calendar and the time zone on your Booking page. To change the time zone:

  • In ScheduleOnce: Go to the Overview section in your Booking page, select the new time zone and save.
  • In Google Calendar: Click on Settings -> Calendar settings. At the top of the Google Calendar page, select the new time zone and save. 

Reload/refresh the ScheduleOnce page to reflect the change.

Can I reassign a booking in Google Calendar?

No, this is not currently supported. If you wish to reassign a booking, you must do it through ScheduleOnce. If both the original Booking owner and the Reassigned booking owner are connected to Google Calendar, the booking details will be automatically updated in Google Calendar.

What happens in Google Calendar if I reassign a booking from ScheduleOnce?

If both the original and new Booking owner have connected their ScheduleOnce accounts to their Google Calendar accounts, when you reassign a booking it will automatically be updated in Google Calendar. The event will be removed from the original Booking owner’s calendar and will be added to the Reassigned Booking owner’s calendar. The Customer will not be informed of the reassignment, ensuring a smooth Customer experience. Learn more about Booking reassignment

Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!