Effects of cancellation

In this article, you'll learn about the effects of cancellation in different phases of the booking lifecycle. Learn more about the different activity statuses

Cancellation initiated by Customer

When a Customer cancels a booking, the following actions take place.

  • An email notification is sent to the Customer, the User who the Customer made the booking with and any additional stakeholders to notify them of the cancellation.
  • In the Activity stream, the activity is updated with a status of Canceled (By Customer).
  • The previously-booked time slot becomes available.

When using ScheduleOnce with a connected calendar

  • If the Customer is added to the calendar event, the Customer will receive an updated calendar invite email with CANCELED in the title. The status of the calendar event will be automatically changed to "Free."
  • The booking owner's calendar event includes CANCELED in the title, so that it is easy to spot that this booking was canceled. However, the calendar event is not deleted.
  • The original User's calendar event changes its status to "Free". This frees up the slot to accept new bookings.

When using Payment integration

If you use Payment integration, refunds can be processed manually or automatically via ScheduleOnce.

  • If the Customer cancels the booking and refunds are processed automatically via ScheduleOnce, an AUTOMATIC REFUND (CANCELLATION) refund transaction is added to the Activity stream.
  • If the Customer cancels the booking and you manually process a refund via ScheduleOnce, a MANUAL REFUND VIA SCHEDULEONCE transaction is added to the Activity stream.

Learn more about processing refunds via ScheduleOnce

Cancellation initiated by User

When a User cancels a booking, the following actions take place.

  • An email notification is sent to the Customer, the User who the Customer made the booking with and any additional stakeholders to notify them of the cancellation.
  • In the Activity stream, the original activity is updated with a status of Canceled (By User).
  • The previously-booked time slot becomes available.

When using ScheduleOnce with a connected calendar

  • If the Customer is added to the calendar event, the Customer will receive an updated calendar invite email with CANCELED in the title. The status of the calendar event will be automatically changed to "Free."
  • The Booking owner's calendar event includes CANCELED in the title, so that it is easy to spot that this booking was canceled. However, the calendar event is not deleted.
  • The Owner's calendar event changes its status to "Free". This frees up the slot to accept new bookings.

When using Payment integration

If you use Payment integration, refunds can be processed manually or automatically via ScheduleOnce. 

If the User cancels the booking and refunds are processed manually via ScheduleOnce, a MANUAL REFUND VIA SCHEDULEONCE transaction is added to the Activity stream.

Learn more about processing refunds via ScheduleOnce

Cancelling a booking request in Requested status

When a booking request in Requested status is canceled by a User or Customer, the following actions take place. 

  • An email notification is sent to the Customer, the User who the Customer made the booking with and any additional stakeholders to notify them of the cancellation.
  • In the Activity stream, the canceled activity changes its status to Canceled and moves to the top of the list.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!